Oklahoma State University-Oklahoma City

Guaranteed Tuition

Residents enrolling for the first time as a full-time undergraduate student shall have the option to participate in our guaranteed tuition rate. This rate is guaranteed for a period of not less than four (4) consecutive academic years and students who choose to participate shall indicate their election at the time of enrollment. Prior to enrollment, students shall be provided with the annual tuition rate charged and the percentage increase for the previous four (4) years.

 
  • The guaranteed tuition lock rate for first time, full-time in-state freshman for 2016-2017 is $139.75 per credit hour. ($4,193 annually for 30 credit hours).
     
  • The nonguaranteed standard tuition rate for all students in 2016-2017 is $126.60 per credit hour. ($3,798 for 30 credit hours – adjusted each year).
     
  • The average annual tuition increase for resident students over the most current 4 years has been 4%.
 

The following displays the academic year 2014-2017 comparison of tuition and percentage increase versus the hypothetical guaranteed rate that would have been offered to students starting in academic year 2012 had the current guaranteed tuition law been enacted at that time.

 

(Please note – the costs reflect tuition only and assume 30 credit hours per academic year. Fees ARE NOT included in the lock tuition legislation.)

 
  Actual
Nonguaranteed Tuition
Hypothetical
Guaranteed Tuition
 Academic Year Resident
Rate
%
Increase
Resident
Rate
%
Increase
2013-2014 $3,360  0% $3,840  0.25% 
2014-2015 $3,528 5% $3,863 0.1%
2015-2016 $3,651 3.5% $4,193 8.5%
2016-2017 $3,798 4% $4,193 0%
 

Tuition Rate Chart 

 

What is a Tuition Lock?

Beginning with the 2008-2009 academic year, Oklahoma Legislation required that new freshman and transfer students be given the opportunity to choose the system through which they plan to pay for their college education - either at a set rate based on the projected average of tuition costs for the next four years or at the standard rate charged each year. For excerpts from the Tuition Lock law, click here.

 

Who is Eligible?

First time, full time, in state resident students are eligible for the tuition lock program as long as they remain continuously enrolled for at least four (4) years.

 

Guidelines:

  • A first time, full time, in state resident student is eligible for the tuition lock program as long as he/she remains continuously enrolled as a full-time student.
  • At the expiration point of the tuition lock, the student would be required to pay the nonguaranteed standard rate of tuition effective for the remaining semesters of attendance.
  • If, for any reason, a student does not maintain consecutive full time enrollment (withdraws or drops out of the institution), he/she is ineligible to return at the locked rate.
  • If a student drops below full-time status in any given semester (excluding summer), he/she will automatically revert back to the standard rate for subsequent semesters.
  • If a student transfers to another state institution, he/she will be charged the amount of resident tuition charged to other first time students enrolling on the new campus.
  • If the student withdraws for military or national defense emergencies, he/she can re-enter and pay the original guaranteed tuition rate if they originally chose this lock option as a first-time student.
  • The guaranteed rate includes tuition only. Additional university fees charged and costs incurred by students are not included in the tuition lock option.
  • At the expiration point of the tuition lock, the student would be required to pay the variable rates effective for the remaining semesters of attendance.
 

Frequently Asked Questions

Q: What if a participating student has to withdraw from classes in a given semester?

 

A: If the student withdraws for military or national defense emergencies, he/she can re-enter and pay the original guaranteed tuition rate.

 

Q: What if the student takes longer than four years to graduate?

 

A: The tuition lock program expires after four years unless the student is enrolled in a degree program officially requiring more than four years to completion. At the expiration point of the tuition lock, the student would be required to pay the standard rate of tuition for the remaining semesters.

 

Q: What if the student transfers to another state institution?

 

A: If a student transfers to another state institution, he/she will be charged the amount of resident tuition charged to other first time students enrolling on the new campus.